We were going to be Uralians, John Muir and I. We were going to go east, to Chelyabinsk in the Urals, and plant sunflowers in the hot zone.

Some places are more than just co-ordinates. Sodom, Plymouth Rock, Auschwitz, Hiroshima, San Diego, Taipei. They are landmarks in our psyche, cemented in there by stories told again and again of something worse than an individual death-urge, an annihilation of more than the body, perhaps of sanity, such as it has been. Nuclear war is a marriage of obscene knowledge and the will to choose for everyone. In the hot zones we find the opposite of the Big Bang. The Big Whoosh, where we all go up together by our own hand.

There was only a minimal practical point in what John and I wanted to do at Chelyabinsk. The area was saturated by billions of curies from Ozyorsk to Semipalatinsk, gusting fallout wind as far as the British islands, even before the war. The Urals mark the line between older and newer destruction. Then there was the Third Day bomb, wiping out the weapons factories and reactors at Mayak, opening the radioactive cankers of Lake Karachai and the Techa river, sending a westward breath of isotopic rain onto the Allies. My grandfather said you could see the glow of irradiated graphite reflares sometimes, when the station passed over 55N60E. If we atoned anywhere, it would be there, among our species’ unacknowledged offspring: Tritium, Strontium-90, Plutonium-238, Cobalt-60, Carbon-4, Irridium-192, Cesium-137. All our fissile shapelings.

I’ve never bought into the idea of communal apologies. It was a fashion in the twentieth century – apologies for enslavement, for genocide, for war crimes. Decades and centuries after the events, when the harm had been inscribed epigenetically into the survivors’ descendants, and no one admitted to being descended from the perpetrators. One community brokered an apology with another. But sin, if you want to think of it that way, is individual. It’s one hand that signs the paper, brings down the rod, pulls the trigger. It’s why we imprison individuals, not families, not the grandchildren of criminals. Before a hand is laid in anger on another, the mind consents. Otherwise we’re a hive. This is still the basis of everything – it’s why there was so much unhappiness about the lottery in the Station. I alone can reproduce myself, and I alone  rate myself worthy of that privilege.

To apologise, you say I consented to do this thing. I regret it and the harm it has caused. I intend not to do it again. No one can apologize for you, nor can you for anyone else. Such is the terrible power of individual capacity, individual action. It may sound strange, but I can’t tell you what John’s reasons for going were. We don’t pry into reasons here, as you’ll find. Perhaps we should. But we are all travelling through difficult terrain, and the weight of other people’s reasons can bog you down.

Some plants are hyperaccumulators – they can take up astonishing amounts of heavy metals, and store them without metabolizing them. Sunflowers, field mustard, amaranthus, cockscomb, water hyacinth, and the redgums, pines, and maples, they all accumulate radionuclides. John had refurbished a vitrification unit from a factory in Istanbul in the last year of the fuel cells, and a pyrolysis reactor from somewhere in France. We were going to sow, harvest the plants and dispose of the biomass by pyrolysis, then vitrify the concentrated waste for storage underground. It was impossible to say how long we would last in the environment. Sixty years before the war began it was the most contaminated place on Earth. The war only brought the rest of the planet up to the level of the Ural graveyard. Kyshtym, Karachai, Ozyorsk – these are forgotten because they have no stories, there are no apologies, no clamorous descendants railing about the obscenities done to them.

We thought we would survive a year at the most. Others would come eventually and continue it, or the first generation of plants and trees would self-seed and continue the repair without humans.

It may like like an act of atonement. I believe the process was called phytoremediation when it was developed after the nuclear accidents of the twentieth century. But remedies are only ever so by our standards. Atonement means acting to return a balance which only we see, only we judge. Apologies are only understood, only needed by humans. Our actions are either harmful or irrelevant. We cannot atone, we cannot act, without causing some kind of harm. It’s our moral spancel, the hobble that ties us to sorrow. This attempt to clean up our nuclear tantrum was not an apology. It was a way to express my sorrow, to acknowledge with my own life that this was what I am, and what I and all like me, do.

Although superfluous, there is a certain satisfaction from ending your life with right action.

See – even morally, it’s all about us.

But I have always loved sunflowers.

Published by Diogenes (A.R. McHugh)

When I was a kid, we had something called a Busy Book. If you finished your work quickly, you had to work on your Busy Book, which was yours to do with as you pleased. Some kids drew stuff, other kids practiced their signature, some people stuck things into it. I copied down poems that I liked (there was a lot of Eleanor Farjeon), and wrote bits of stories. This blog is my grown-up Busy Book. I grew up in Glasgow and a very twee town near Loch Lomond called Helensburgh. Then my father and I moved to Sydney, Australia. I finished school there, and did an Arts degree, and a PhD. Then I moved to Oxford and did a DPhil and a Junior Research Fellowship. Then I moved back to Sydney and tried to be a high school teacher. That didn't work out very happily. Now I'm a jobbing after-school tutor, mainly for classes of Chinese-Australian kids, and I walk dogs. I read a lot and write a lot. I've given up trying to be published by a commercial publisher because I'm terrible with rejection. I don't feel that I have anything that the current publishing climate might want: I'm not queer; I'm not disabled; I'm freckly-white; I've never been a refugee or asylum seeker (many experiences of being fired don't count); I'm female but accepting of it; I've never had a live birth and don't particularly want one; I can't write sexually explicit stuff without either sniggering or getting bored; English is my native language; the general tone of my writing is that of an introverted, middle-aged, well-educated man from southern England circa 1960. The heyday of my style of writing came and went with John Le Carre and John Fowles. I have two impatient cats and a patient boyfriend.

3 thoughts on “

  1. “But I have always loved sunflowers….”

    And I love this tale…

    This is beautiful on so many levels, and I’m completely immersed. I wish I’d read something like this decades ago because it would have remained in my memory all these years as a world I’d love to visit despite its danger and terrible history. This is what makes writing work–when the reader yearns to inhabit the author’s world. And to think the surface has only just been scratched!

    Truly compelling storytelling. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks – as you’ve probably guessed, I’m gradually putting together a novel from all these fragments. I’m hoping it’ll be something like The Road but without the stupid happy ending (seriously, the entire world is trashed and they drag themselves across the country and then, just as the father carks it, a nuclear – pardon the pun – family turns up out of bloody nowhere and just adopts the kid?!?!). I have a horrible feeling it’s going to be a bit heavy and humourless because I care about the ‘message’ (the kiss of death to good fiction, ‘messages’), but I can’t seem to move on to anything else before I get this off my chest.

      I hope your weather in Utah isn’t too horrible – doesn’t it get brutally cold there?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree regarding The Road. It was a weird way to end what was otherwise a deeply moving and enthralling novel (and yeah, it took a bit of time to acclimate to McCarthy’s unconventional prose style). Also, I’m with you regarding messages. I’m always looking for meaning, and a story without purpose or depth is just a story. This tale–what you’ve posted so far–is beyond fascinating to me, and I love that it has meat on its bones. Best of luck with this.

    Colorado here, actually. I was raised in Utah but fortunately was able to make a successful escape from that place years ago (although if I look to the west, I can see it on the horizon, so it’s still too close for my liking). 😀 It does get pretty cold here at times. The farm on which I was raised an hour from where I now live sits at 7,000 feet elevation, and we’d see temperatures as low as -20 F during the winters (but also as high as 115 F during the summers). I’m at a lower elevation now (6.200 feet) so it’s not quite as bad in the winters, but summers are more humid. Just can’t seem to win either way! Oh well.

    Wishing you a happy holiday season. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment